Tuesday, 25 July 2017

Promotion of Traditional Art and Folk Art

To protect, preserve & promote various forms of traditional art and folk art throughout the country, the Government of India has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) with headquarters at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Allahabad, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur. 

To develop traditional art across the country including the State of Andhra Pradesh, these ZCCs are implementing a number of schemes viz. Award to Young Talented Artistes, Guru Shishya Parampara Scheme, Theatre Rejuvenation Scheme, Research & Documentation Scheme, Shilpgram Scheme, Octave and J&K Festivals and National Cultural Exchange Programme (NCEP). 

No State/UT-wise funds are provided for promotion of traditional art and folk art. However, annual grant-in-aid is provided to all these 7 ZCCs by Government of India for carrying out various cultural activities throughout the country for this purpose. 

This information was given by Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Minister of State for Culture and Tourism (Independent Charge) in a written reply in Lok Sabha today (July 24, 2017). 

Courtesy: pib.nic.in

No comments:

State Visit of Prime Minister to Rwanda, Uganda and South Africa (July 23-27, 2018)

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, will pay a State Visit to Republic of Rwanda (23-24 July), Republic of Uganda (24-25 July) and Republic ...