Thursday, 20 July 2017

Inclusion of more holidays in national calendar

The Government has received proposal to make Patriots Day, observed on 13th August, and Ningol Chakkouba, which coincides with Bhai Duj, as restricted holidays and include them in the National Calendar. 
As per existing policy, the Central Government administrative offices observe 17 holidays in a year.  Out of these 17 holidays, 14 are pre-notified, compulsory holidays, which include three National holidays, namely, Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday.  The remaining three holidays are required to be selected, by the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee (CGEWCC), functioning in respective states, from another list of 12 occasions.  In addition, individual employees are allowed two restricted holidays in a year to be selected from a notified list of such Restricted Holidays.
In view of the ceiling on the total number of holidays that can be declared in a year by the Government, it has not been found possible to declare additional Restricted Holiday for the above occasions.
As per policy, the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee in the State Capitals choose three holidays keeping in view the occasions of local importance.  The Coordination Committees at the State Capitals may draw up separate list of Restricted Holidays keeping in view the occasions of local importance.
This was stated by the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr. Jitendra Singh in a written reply to a question by Shri K. Bhabananda Singh  in the Rajya Sabha today.


No comments:

Cabinet approves waiver of Penal Interest on Government Loans advanced to Paradip Port Trust

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has given its approval for waiving of Penal Int...