Tuesday, 28 March 2017

Forest Right Committees

As per ‘The Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (OTFDs) (Recognition of Forest Rights) Act, 2006’ (in short FRA) and rules there under, responsibility for implementation of the Act lies with the States/UTs. As per information received from the State Governments, upto 31.01.2017, Gram Sabhas have constituted Forest Rights Committees under FRA in all the States, except (i) Arunachal Pradesh (ii) Manipur (iii) Meghalaya (iv) Nagaland (v) Sikkim. 

As already stated in reply to part (a) above, the responsibility for implementation of the Act lies with the States/UTs. Manipur, Meghalaya and Arunachal Pradesh State Governments reported that they feel that the FRA is not so relevant in their State because of the prevalent customary community ownership of forest land. Sikkim reported that there are no forest dwelling STs and Other Forest Dwellers in the true sense of the term and most of STs of Sikkim hold revenue land in their own name and they are not solely dependent on the forests for their livelihood. Nagaland has informed that the land holding system and the village system of Naga people is peculiar in that the people are the landowners. 

This information was given by Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Shri Jaswantsinh Bhabhor in a written reply in Lok Sabha.

Courtesy: pib.nic.in

No comments:

Index Numbers of Wholesale Price in India (Base: 2011-12=100)

Review for the month of June, 2018 The official Wholesale Price Index for ‘All Commodities’ (Base: 2011-12=100) for the month of June, 2018...