Monday 25 January 2016

Inauguration of IIIDEM New Campus at Dwarka

Dr. Nasim Zaidi, Chief Election Commissioner of India, Shri A.K. Joti Election Commissioner & Shri O.P. Rawat Election Commissioner today inaugurated the construction for new campus of India International Institute of Democracy and Election Management (IIIDEM)  at Dwarka, New Delhi. The new campus of IIIDEM is being constructed on a plot of Five acres (approx. 20,000 sq. mts). The project envisages construction of a State of the Art Campus with green-building compliance with 4-star GRIHA rating. Indo-Swiss BEEP team has provided the technical know-how for making the campus energy efficient and environment friendly. Total built up area of the campus is 26,500 sq. mts.

Mr. Ahmad Yousuf Nouristani Chairman, Independent Election Commission, AfghanistanMr. Tom Rogers Election Commissioner Australian Electoral Commission, Australia, Mr. Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad Chief Election Commissioner, Bangladesh, Mr. Dasho Ugyen Chewang Election Commissioner, Bhutan Election Commissioner, BhutanDatuk Dr. P. Manogran Commissioner Election Commission of Malaysia, Dr. Ayodhee Prasad Yadav Chief Election Commissioner, NepalMr. Mahinda Deshapriya Chief Election Commissioner, Sri Lanka & Representatives from EMB of Pakistan were also present on the occasion.

The new campus comprises of three main blocks.

Institutional Block – Equipped with state-of-art training rooms (50 to 150 capacity), conference Halls, library, IT server room, election museum, publication centre, record room, computer labs and office space;

Hostel Block – Comprises 100 rooms (single seated rooms and suites)along with common facilities like dining hall, gymnasium etc.

Auditorium – state of the art auditorium with a capacity of 450 seats

                        Dr. Nasim Zaidi emphasized the importance of creating awareness and spreading knowledge in the field of voter education and election management for fighting the malaise in the electoral system. He appreciated the efforts of all the team members from the CPWD, Architect & IIIDEM for finalizing the plans and design of the campus. Sh. A.K. Joti & Shri O.P. Rawat, Election Commissioners appreciated the role played by IIIDEM in providing uniform and systematic training to the election machinery spread throughout the length and breadth of the country. Head of Election Management Bodies from South Asian countries, Australia & Malaysia  present on the occasion, extended whole-hearted support to the new Institute and desired to avail the facilities. Former Chief Election Commissioners Shri B.B. Tandon, Shri Navin B. Chawla, Dr. S.Y. Quraishi and Shri H.S. Brahma were also present besides senior officials of the Commission, Government of India and other dignitaries.

IIIDEM has six centres of excellence namely – Centre for Training and Capacity Development, Centre for International Cooperation and Capacity Building, Centre for IT & E-Learning, Centre for Voter Education, Centre for Innovation, Research & Documentation & Centre for Electoral Laws.Standard training modules for national & international participants are developed by a renowned team of Indian and International experts.

Training courses of IIIDEM are being conducted in the interim premises of this Institute at Election Commission of India. IIIDEM, since its launch in June 2011 has hosted 141 courses for about more than 3800 election officials and other stakeholders in all aspects of Election management.

Besides the national training programmes, IIIDEM has also conducted 23 international programs for 68 countries from around the world. These include courses for SAARC, Commonwealth, ITEC partner countries besides bi-lateral programs, consultation workshops and confefences.  Over the 4 years of its existence, IIIDEM has become a hub for national and international training courses, seminars and workshops.

No comments:

Extension of Emergency Credit Line Guarantee Scheme through ECLGS 2.0 for the 26 sectors identified by the Kamath Committee and the healthcare sector

Extension of the duration of Emergency Credit Line Guarantee Scheme (ECLGS) 1.0 The Government has extended Emergency Credit Line Guarantee ...